iso_8859_2(7) -- Linux man page



iso_8859-2 - the ISO 8859-2 character set encoded in octal, decimal, and hexadecimal  


The ISO 8859 standard includes several 8-bit extensions to the ASCII character set (also known as ISO 646-IRV). ISO 8859-2, the "Latin Alphabet No. 2" is used to encode Central and Eastern European Latin characters and is implemented by several program vendors. ISO 8859-2 supports the following languages: Albanian, Bosnian, Croatian, Czech, English, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Irish, Polish, Slovak, Slovenian and Sorbian. Also note that the following Cyrillic-based languages have one-to-one transliterations to Latin 2: Macedonian and Serbian.  

ISO 8859 Alphabets

The full set of ISO 8859 alphabets includes:
ISO 8859-1West European languages (Latin-1)
ISO 8859-2Central and East European languages (Latin-2)
ISO 8859-3Southeast European and miscellaneous languages (Latin-3)
ISO 8859-4Scandinavian/Baltic languages (Latin-4)
ISO 8859-5Latin/Cyrillic
ISO 8859-6Latin/Arabic
ISO 8859-7Latin/Greek
ISO 8859-8Latin/Hebrew
ISO 8859-9Latin-1 modification for Turkish (Latin-5)
ISO 8859-10Lappish/Nordic/Eskimo languages (Latin-6)
ISO 8859-11Latin/Thai
ISO 8859-13Baltic Rim languages (Latin-7)
ISO 8859-14Celtic (Latin-8)
ISO 8859-15West European languages (Latin-9)
ISO 8859-16Romanian (Latin-10)

ISO 8859-2 Characters

The following table displays the characters in ISO 8859-2 (Latin-2), which are printable and unlisted in the ascii(7) manual page. The fourth column will only show the proper glyphs in an environment configured for ISO 8859-2.