racoon(8) -- Linux man page



racoon - IKE (ISAKMP/Oakley) key management daemon  


racoon -words [-BFvdL46 ] -words [-f configfile ] -words [-l logfile ] -words [-p isakmp-port ] -words [-P isakmp-natt-port ]  


racoon speaks IKE (ISAKMP/Oakley) key management protocol, to establish security association with other hosts. SPD (Security Policy Database) in the kernel usually triggers to start racoon racoon usually sends all of informational messages, warnings and error messages to syslogd(8) with the facility LOG_DAEMON, the priority LOG_INFO. Debugging messages are sent with the priority LOG_DEBUG. You should configure syslog.conf5 appropriately to see these messages.

Install SA(s) from the file which is specified in racoon.conf5.
Run racoon in the foreground.
-f configfile
Use configfile as the configuration file instead of the default.
-l logfile
Use logfile as the logging file instead of syslogd(8).
-p isakmp-port
Listen to ISAKMP key exchange on port isakmp-port instead of the default port number, 500.
-P isakmp-natt-port
Use isakmp-natt-port for NAT-Traversal port-floating. The default is 4500.
The flag causes the packet dump be more verbose, with higher debugging level.
Increase the debug level. Multiple -d will increase the debug level even more.
Include file_name:line_number:fuction_name location in all messages.
Specifies the default address family for the sockets.

racoon assumes the presence of kernel random number device rnd(4) at /dev/urandom Informational messages are labeled info and debugging messages are labeled debug You have to configure syslog.conf5 if you want to see them in a logging file.  


The command exits with 0 on success, and non-zero on errors.  


default configuration file.



ipsec(4), racoon.conf5, syslog.conf5, setkey(8), syslogd(8)  


The racoon command first appeared in ``YIPS'' Yokogawa IPsec implementation.  


The use of IKE phase 1 aggressive mode is not recommended, as describved in http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/886601